PDA/ CEU Points Required for Lapsed Certification Renewal

Month Lapsed PDA Points Lapsed PDA Points Total PDA Points Required to Recertify

1 – 12

60 15 75 PDA Points
13 – 24 60 30

90 PDA Points

25 – 36 60 45 105 PDA Points


Lapsed constituents must return to Active status within three (3) years of their last active certification expiration date or their NCCAOM Certification is terminated.

Fifteen (15) PDA points/hours are required per lapsed year. Lapsed PDA points have to be in the mandatory Core Competencies section (SA – ET – AOM-BIO). PDA points may not be submitted twice during a recertification cycle nor may they be carried over from one cycle to another.

Mandatory: Core Competency PDA points are awarded for active learning that is earned in a classroom or e-learning environment in specific areas. One PDA point is equal to one hour of instructor-led learning.

Coursework Type Mandatory Points required
Core Competency: See table above
Safety (SA)
Ethics (ET)
CPR Certificate
45 – 105
Professional Enhancements
0 – 30
Total Points Required:
75 – 105


Optional: Professional Enhancement (PE) consists of coursework (CW) and activities (AT) that can be mixed to complete all PDA points required for lapsed NCCAOM recertification.

PE-CW Coursework: Live presentations or distance learning courses accepted.

PE-AT Approved Professional Activities are listed below

Professional Enhancement Categories